The Australia A-League is the highest-level professional men’s soccer league in Australia. At the top of the Australian league system, it is the country’s primary competition for the sport. Football Federation Australia established A-League in 2004 as a successor to the National Soccer League and competition commenced in 2005. Currently, twelve teams contested in this league, eleven based in Australia and one based in New Zealand.

Seasons run from October to May and include a 26-round. The regular season followed by a Finals Series playoff involving the highest-placed teams, culminating in a grand final match. The winner of the regular season tournament dubbed the ‘Premier’ while the winner of the grand final is the season’s ‘Champion’. This differs from the other major football codes in Australia, where ‘premier’ refers to the winner of the grand final and the winner of the regular season is the ‘minor premier’.