Finland Veikkausliiga is the premier division of Finnish football, the highest tier of the Finnish football league structure, comprising the top 12 clubs of the country. Its main sponsor is the Finnish national betting agency Veikkaus, hence the league’s name. Veikkausliiga founded in 1990; before that, the top division called Mestaruussarja (championship series) since 1930 which was an amateur or semi-professional league. Between 1908 and 1930 the championship decided as a knock-out cup competition.

During the 1990 and 1991 seasons, the Finland Veikkausliiga played under the name “Futisliiga”.
As with certain other cold-climate European countries, league matches in Finland played in summer. The format and number of teams have changed frequently. As of 2020, there are 12 teams, which first face the other teams two times.