Italian Serie B, currently named Serie BKT for sponsorship reasons, is the second-highest division in the Italian football league system after the Serie A. It has been operating for over ninety years since the 1929–30 season. It had been organized by Lega Calcio until 2010 when the Italian Serie B was created for the 2010–11 season. Common nicknames for the league are Campionato cadet and cafeteria, as a cadet is Italian for junior or cadet.

At the end of the season, three teams promoted to Serie A, and four teams are relegated to Serie C. The top two teams automatically promoted. If the 3rd-placed team is 10 or more points ahead of the 4th-placed team. It is automatically promoted too, otherwise, a playoff tournament determines the third team that will be ascending.