window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-128425004-1');

English Premier League or the EPL outside England is the top level of the English football league system. Every year 20 clubs attend this Premier League. Seasons run from August to May with each team playing 38 matches (playing all 19 other teams both home and away). Most games are played on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

The competition was founded as the FA Premier League on 20 February 1992. Following the decision of clubs in the Football League First Division to break away from the League, founded in 1888. Then it takes advantage of a lucrative television rights deal. The deal was worth around £1 billion a year domestically as of 2013–14. Sky and BT Group securing the domestic rights to broadcast 116 and 38 games respectively.

Go to Top